Home > Uncategorized > EBUS270:Blogging in the Curriculum

EBUS270:Blogging in the Curriculum

I feel that blogging can play an important role in our classroom. It can be implemented as support for many parts of the curriculum. Blogging can be used cross curricular to help enrich the student learning and success.

A blog is an interactive journal type of website that can be useful in many aspects of a classroom. It is a useful tool to communicate with students, parents as well as other classrooms (inside and outside of the school). Posting what is going on in the classroom on a daily basis, including assignments and projects, great class resources, student reflection and collaboration; it is all a part of the classroom blogging experience. Having a classroom blog, as well as each student having their own personal blog, can be beneficial to the learning experience.

A classroom blog to interact and share with one another

To implement this into an IP class, I would suggest it be best to develop a classroom blog from day one of class. Although my main focus is the elementary level (more specifically middle years), developing and composing a blog fits in throughout the curriculum. The development of the classroom blog, as well as the individual student blog is a demonstration of the utilization of a student’s computer skills. When the blogs are developed, what students compose on their blogs as well as the classroom blog will be a great way to show myself as the teacher what they have the ability to do. Students can post pictures, documents, videos, or journal entries to show me what they know and what they learned. This process will help them map out how they got to where they are.

Not only is a blog a great place to post assignments, it is also a great opportunity for students to sharpen their keyboarding and other computer skills by reflecting and posting journal entries. I suggest giving class time, as well as encouraging students to blog at home to help them sharpen their keying skills.

Although I see blogging as a very useful and effective tool in my future teaching, I do recognize a few draw backs. Most of these draw backs come down to the availability of technology. Computers are a wonderful instrument that we as teachers need to welcome into our daily classroom activities. The disappointing aspect of this is not all schools are blessed with a computer for each child. Students may also not have access to a computer at home. To overcome this it is important to allow as much access to each student while at school as possible. A solution to not having a computer for each child is to split the class. Have one part of the class on a computer while the other part of the class may be working on another subject. This may create more work for me as the teacher but I feel it is worth it in order to give each student access to the computer, especially those who do not have access at home. By providing students with ample time on computers at school, I as a teacher would be able to change my approach and not require students to blog from their homes and therefore eliminate the possibility of the student with no home computer access from falling behind.

A student's post on a classroom blog

From my experiences, as well as communicating with my former colleagues I feel the students will generally respond in a positive manner. Blogging has proven to be an effective tool in younger elementary as well as in middle school. Students seem to really enjoy showing what they have learned by putting it on display on the internet for their community and world to see.

Below I have provided you with links to many great classroom and student blogs. It is really astounding how effective a blog can be.

Classroom Blogs

The Blog Dogs – A grade 3 blog

Billings Middle School – Gr 6,7,8

Mrs. Yollis’ 3rd Grade Classroom Blog

Student Blogs

Chris Ponner

Grade 4 student named Emily

11 year old Haley

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 8, 2011 at 10:29 AM

    Hi I dropped in from one of your professors tweets encouraging people to comment on student blogs. I’m an education student as well. I’m wondering How do you feel that blogging has benefited your own studies?

  2. February 9, 2011 at 12:43 AM

    Blogging has definitely helped me out in my studies. I am fairly new to the whole blogging scene but it has been great so far. It has helped me explore my thoughts and see what others such as yourself have to say about many different things. It is a great way to connect with other teacher from around the world. It is very interesting to see the different view points on of the various things people talk about. I enjoy reading other teacher blogs and sharing ideas. Twitter is another great tool that has helped enrich my blogging experience. I have also begun turning my blog into my online portfolio to help showcase who I am where I plan on going with my teaching.

  3. February 10, 2011 at 4:31 PM

    Hi Dallas,

    I really enjoyed reading this post about blogging. During my internship, I really think that blogging would’ve kept the parents informed about assignments and activities that their children have been working on at school. It would be a great way to get updates if your child missed a few days. If parents have a blog themselves, they could also comment on the things you have posted, and could encourage collaboration among parents.

  1. February 13, 2011 at 4:18 AM

Leave a Reply

