Home > Uncategorized > Going the Extra for Extra Curricular

Going the Extra for Extra Curricular

Since I started blogging and tweeting I have been very interested in everything that it has to offer. Just today I started reading blogs of people I do not know personally but am connected to through the web. One post that I was drawn to was by the principal of Montmartre School, Dave Bircher. This post was about his involvment in extra curricular and how much he enjoys it.

Yesterday I had an interview with PVSD and we got to talking about alot of different things. One of the many things that they were impressed with was the ammount of extra curricular I was involved in during my internship. My internship was done at Balgonie Elementary School. I am very impressed with all of the available extra curricular they have to offer. Not only the school sports but many different clubs that reach many more students. During my time at B.E.S I was involved with flag football, volleyball, basketball (still currently) and MLC (middle level club).

Everyone has their different reasons for doing extra curricular activities at school. As an intern you may be doing it to build your resume, which I think is fine, but if that is one of the things that lands you the job and that is not really who you are, then you are really just trying to be someone else.

I do extra curricular for a couple different reasons. The first reason is I feel that building that relationship outside of the classroom setting is so very important in making school a positive experience for the kids. When students see you outside of that classroom setting they see a different side of you. A side that maybe they can relate to better, than the teacher that is standing at the front of the room trying to convince them that BEDMAS really is important.

The second and most important reason is I just love doing it. Growing up I had so many positive influences that helped me out during activities in and out of school. In a way I want to be able to give back the same way all of my coaches and mentors did for me. When I become too old and brittle I will always have coaching sports to help feed my passion for sports. These reasons in itself make extra curricular worth while.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 18, 2011 at 1:34 AM

    This is a very interesting post as I was just having this conversation with some of my peers last week. We talked about the idea of “building relationships not resumes” and what school divisions are really looking for in an applicant. Wouldn’t you rather see a resume that projected a passionate individual than a list a million miles long of extra curricular’s? It’s an interesting debate!
    Allie

    • January 18, 2011 at 1:37 AM

      The way I look at it is I am passionate about the extra curricular stuff that gets kids involved. Even if that extra curricular is math help outside of classroom time, to me it is what makes being a teacher so great.

  2. January 18, 2011 at 3:57 AM

    Good post Dallas and thanks for linking. You will receive more rewards with extra-curr. that go outside the job. I like your comment about being true to yourself, as I share the same philosophy.

    Good luck with the job search!

    Dave

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

