Home > ECMP > Who I am

Who I am

Hi there. I would just like to take this opportunity to tell you a little bit about myself. My name is Dallas Folk, I am a 4th year education student here at the U of R. I am taking middle years education. I just finished my internship at Balgonie Elementary. It was a very rewarding and fun experience.

I am originally from small town Saskatchewan. More specifically, Colonsay Sask (half hour east of Saskatoon). I grew up playing many sports with the majority of my time dedicated to hockey. This is actually the first years since I was 3 years old that I have not played competitive hockey. Time just did not permit such a commitment this year. Some other activities I enjoy are snowboarding and fishing.

When it comes to technology I find myself fairly comfortable. I am no whiz by any means but I find that if I “mess around” with the technology I tend to figure it out. I love to use the latest technology from Blackberries to my laptop, although I have yet to dive into the world of a Mac.

I think the use of technology in the classroom is an extremely important tool to benefit the students learning. The world around us is progressing forward with a technology based society and I feel it is important that students are progressing with the technology as well. Although technology has so many benefits I feel it does have a few draw backs if not approached the right way. Things like youtube can be a great learning resource but at the same time can be a distraction to students if used the wrong way. The same can be said for all of the social networking sites out there today. They all have their purpose, but as far as in the classroom goes I have yet to see a value in it. I feel that these social networking sites are best left for at home use. As far as dealing with the cell phones I am a little on the fence with the idea of them in the classroom. I know the definite draw backs of them such as texting in class, but in one classroom that I know of they have given the students an oppourtunity to show responsibility and trust with their cell phones by allowing them to use them as agendas. The last I have heard about it, it was working just fine. I am not sure which way I would lean on this but I think that it all depends on the type of students you have in your classroom.

With this class I hope to gather some new knowledge and ideas to help enrich a classrooms learning. I want to learn the many ways technology can be useful to students as well as become more comfortable with some programs I am not familiar with.

Categories: ECMP
  1. msvolk
    January 15, 2011 at 4:35 PM

    Dallas, I have the same thoughts as you with regards to cellphone use in class – sitll undecided. On one hand, they are a definite distraction; on the other, they can provide endless opportunities for the students to show responsibility. This makes me think of something Alec said in class the other day similar to “if anyone can teach themselves to do anything (through the Internet), why do we need teachers? What is the difference between cheating and being resourceful?” To bring this back to cellphone use, I have realized that if a student can use a phone to find answers to a test or to help with research, do we punish them for ‘cheating’ or reward them for being resourceful?

  2. Mrs. Holden
    March 5, 2011 at 6:49 PM

    Hi, Dallas – I am a U of R alumni from . . . years ago – I appreciate your thoughtfulness and the questions that you ask. You prompted my own thinking – if we are very deliberate in working through the ethics with kids, they will learn to be appropriate with the tools they have. I believe that thinking applies to most of the tools that kids access. . . I love the idea of using cell phones specifically for agendas. Great way to define the purpose and show kids how to use the tool in daily life. Weighing in on the other question – I’m all for setting kids up to be rewarded for resourcefulness – so assessment by test? Maybe that needs to change, too. . . Welcome to education! You’ll be amazing!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

